Palais de Tokyo, Auraiya
About Palais de Tokyo
The monument was inaugurated by President Lebrun on May 24, 1937, at the time of the International Exhibition of Arts and Technology of 1937. The original name of the building was Palais des Musées d'art moderne ("Palace of the Museums of modern art"). The building has since then hosted a number of establishments, projects, and creative spaces. Among them; le musée d'art et d'essai (1977–1986), the FEMIS, the Centre national de la photographie, and in 1986 the Palais du cinéma. The current contemporary art center opened to the public in March 2002 under the new name "Site de création contemporaine (Site for contemporary creation]", specializing in the emerging French and international art scene. With no permanent collection, it is not a museum and produces all of its exhibitions.