Pasighat Knowledge Guide
Pasighat was founded in 1911 A.D. by the British Raj as a gateway to administrative convenience of the greater Abor Hills and the north area in general. Primarily there were settlements of Adi tribesmen who are still living in the villages in and around Pasighat. Year 2011 (January) marked 100 years of its existence. Cognizance of Pasighat emerged due to the last Anglo-Abor War that was fought in 1912 subsequent to fourth Anglo-Abor War in 1894. This necessitated the first ever administrative headquarters being established here with an Assistant Political Officer posted. In the post-independent Era, Pasighat is credited with the first Airfield (near Paglek, P.I. Line) established in 1946. The first Agricultural Institute in Arunachal Pradesh was also established at Pasighat in 1950. Other forms of later infrastructural development include: General Hospital (established 1954, although some claim it as old as the town itself), Co-operative society Ltd (1957), Nurse Training Centre (affiliated to General Hospital), The first ever College in Arunachal Pradesh - Jawaharlal Nehru College (established: 4 July 1964) and also the first ever All India Radio Station in the State in 1966.Early proponents for shifting the state capital from Shillong (the then NEFA), underlined Pasighat's better infrastructure. However, the privilege was lost to the present capital Itanagar in 1974. The only significant development in Pasighat that came after that was the College Of Horticulture and Forestry Central Agriculture University established on 7 March 2001.
The people of Pasighat celebrate a variety of festivals. Solung, Aran, Etor etc. are important festivals here. Legend has it that the festival regarded as Solung, which is the principal festival of the Adis, came into existence when the Goddess of wealth, Kiine-Naane had asked them in person to carry out this worship or 'puja'. Solung is celebrated by the Adis for five days. The first day or the Solung Gidi Dogin is the day when they prepare for this event. Doreph Long, the second day is the day of animal slaughters. Binnyat Binam or the third day is the day of prayers. Taktor of Ekoph is the fourth day and on this day arms and ammunition are manufactured. Miri or the fifth day is the day of farewell. The songs that are sung during Solung are the lyrics of Solung Abang that show the life of humans, animals, plants, etc. Solung is celebrated in the month of September.
Pasighat is the land of the mighty Siang and indigenous hanging bridges. A waterfall graces the mountain cliffs and chills the vicinity. The places of attraction in the town are: The Daying Ering Wildlife Sanctuary in Arunachal Pradesh, India, is one of the most popular wildlife parks of the state. Spread over an area of 190 square kilometres (73 sq mi), alluvial grasslands form the major area and wooded areas constitute about 15%. The rest is water. Present land of the sanctuary was mostly donated by the mebo and monngu Banngos. It was, is, and will always be popularly called Jopong, which was a named given by locals and land owners in memory and honour of RUTUM JOTAN Pertin during 1790s. A term coined by Pertin-PANNGINNG friendship and accepted by all since last 225 years. Pangin is about 60 km from Pasighat, and connected by road. It stands at a point where River Siyom meets River Siang and the blue waters of Siyom meet the green Siang. Besides above, the district is endowed with some scenic locations particularly on both sides of the Siang. There are also a number of rare plants and herbs which are of medicinal importance. Botanists and Zoologists can have ample scope for study of the rich plant and wildlife resources. Bodak Scenic Area: The Bodak-Mebo-Jengging Scenic Area is a popular picnic spot for tourists from neighbouring states, towns and the residents of Pasighat. The scenic area is a large forested area with villages, agricultural lands within, at about 15 kilometres away from the Pasighat main town. The scenic area is along the highway starting from the Siang Bridge and diverges to Mebo village on the right hand side and to Jengging village on the left hand side. The road to Jenning is much more frequented because of the vistas of the Siang river from the road. Youngsters are frequently seen going on a long drive in this area. The area is also home to the Mïdu Lereng stone monolith. Villagers of the area have shown concern about the garbage generated and destruction to the environment from frequent tourist visits and many regular picnic spots are now taxed by NGOs who maintain the pristine environment. Village level governments of the nearby villages have been very critical over the matter and have erected notices, warnings and appointed members of the village on a rotational basis to keep an eye for possible damages to property, environment, and poaching and trespassing. There are fines in place for the defaulters. Kekar Monying: A mountain cliff near Rottung is an important historical place because it was here that the Adi put up a strong resistance against the British in 1911. The war was a part of a punitive expedition undertaken by the British for murdering Noel Williamson, a political officer in the previous year by Matmur Jamoh, a native of Yagrung village. Komsing: A village on the left bank of the Siang is the place of Williamson's murder. A stone epitaph bearing the name of Noel. Williamson still lies near the Siang. Komlighat used to be a river port at an earlier time. The ghat marks the area of the colonial town of Pasighat which has been submerged into the Siang river following a flood and the river changing its course. Now a popular evening spot, the area is frequented by families, youngsters, and the health conscious for jogging, yoga, etc. The spot is also popular for its street food sold by vendors in the area. The ghat provides a wonderful view of the river and the hills surrounding the Pasighat plains. The distant hills are covered with snow in winters. The river bank in the area is very close to the floodplain, which makes for an excellent view with a large stretch of riverine beach. Paradoxically, the lower flood plain also makes it susceptible to flooding during the monsoon and thus, has rows of embankments and other flood control mechanisms. Pasighat Buddhist Temple: Located in the opposite side of the air strip from the highway, this small temple serves as the only Buddhist worship place in Pasighat. East Siang District Museum: Also located in the opposite side of the Pasighat Airport, it is the district museum of the East Siang District. Adi Baane Kebang Headquarters: Pasighat also houses the headquarters of the Adi Baane Kebang, which acts as the de facto cultural parliament governing the cultural, linguistic, traditional aspects of the Adi ethnicity. Pasighat Airport is a military airstrip, which has been upgraded and is also being used as a civilian airport to cater to the public Gomsi: A cultivation area near Rani Village is another place of historical importance. In June 1996 a team of archaeologists led by Shri T. Tada, Deputy Director, Archaeology of the Research Department conducted a trial excavation and survey in the site. They have found broken pieces of different evidence, of past culture of early medieval period (probably Pre-Ahom).