Madanapalle Knowledge Guide


Madanapalle was founded by Sri Maadanna in 1618 AD.Sir Thomas Munro was first collector of Cuddapah. He constructed a small thatched house at the present Collector's bunglow and visited Madanapalle every summer. Madanapalle (Telugu:మదనపల్లె) or Madanapalle mandal (Mandal code-35), is a mandal HQ, town and a Municipality in Chittoor district of Andhra Pradesh state, India. There are 21 villages in this mandal and the list is : 1 Chinnathippasamudram (CTM), 2 Kasiraopeta, 3 Kothavaripalle, 4 Pothapolu, 5 Venkappakota, 6 Bandameeda kammapalle, 7 Kollabylu, 8 Ponnetipalem, 9 Chippili, 10 Pappireddipalle, 11 Kammapalle, 12 Basinikonda, 13 Pamaiahgaripalle, 14 Molakaladinne, 15 Valasapalle, 16 Madanapalle (rural), 17 Ankisettipalle, 18 Vem palle, 19 Malepadu, 20 Penchupadu, 21 Theneegalavaripalle population 107,512 (2001 census). Legend has it that the name of the town was originally " Maryaada raamanna puram" which has over time, changed into " Madanapalle". In 1850, Madanapalle was developed as subdivision and F.B.Manoly was the first Sub Collector. The town experienced several natural calamities like floods, famines and epidemics. Rabindranath Tagore translated "Jana Gana Mana" from Bengali to English and also set it to music in Madanapalle. The National Anthem was written by Rabindranath Tagore as early as in 1911 and was sung at the annual session of the Indian National Congress at Calcutta on 27 December that year. But it was actually done in Besant Theosophical College, Madanapalle, where Tagore stayed for few days in February 1919 that the now familiar tune was set. It was Margaret Cousins, wife of educationist, Dr. James Henry Cousins, who composed the tune for "Jana Gana Mana". Dr.J H Cousins was then the Principal of the Madanapalle College that was established by Dr. Annie Besant.