Muzaffarpur Knowledge Guide



The current city was established in 1875 during the British Raj for administrative convenience, by dividing the Tirhut district and was named after an aumil, Muzaffar Khan; thus the city came to be known as Muzaffarpur.

After Independence

In 1972, the Sitamarhi and Vaishali districts were split off from Muzaffarpur.